Pickling

Last week, I attended a “Canning 101” class and had many of my terrible fears debunked. A relief, for sure. For example: pickled things and high acid foods (like fruits and tomatoes) are unlikely to develop botulism–my biggest fear in canning. So, I’m a little more comfortable, these days, experimenting with the process.

Sunchokes in Brine

This week: pickled sunchokes. As I’ve mentioned before, we have an excess of a variety of root vegetables from our winter share from the farm. While I’m way sick of them now, I can see a cold, June or July day when all I want is a rutabaga puree or something else warming and yummy. Enter food preservation. Sunchokes (also called Jerusalem Artichokes, despite the fact they are not native to the land of milk & honey) are a fun item to have around. They can stand in for potatoes and are all knobby and cute. But when you get 2.5 pounds of them for what seems like 15 straight weeks, it is hard to still appreciate them for what they are. With about 4 pounds left in the refrigerator, I thought it high time to find some way to preserve these guys (we’ll discuss the 5-7 pounds of turnips, parsnips, and rutabagas another time). I googled and discovered some rather unappealing recipes that seemed like they would require more than just a hot water bath (I don’t have a pressure canner; I don’t know how to use a pressure canner; and I’m not ready to graduate to the pressure canner).

Pickling Liquid: white wine vinegar, apple cider vinegar, turmeric, sugar, bay leaf, cloves, dried chilis

And then this came across my screen. I don’t actually know anything about the author and had never seen his site before. But the recipe looked to be right on the money, and he has a fairly substantial following (the James Beard Foundation also likes him, which I find to be at least a positive because it means people who know more than I do know who he is). For what it’s worth, I actually really like his site. And these pickles seem destined to be a tasty treat for the rest of the year…and a nice break from the roasted sunchokes of my past.

I will refer you to the Hunter Angler Gardener Cook website for the recipe since it is early on Saturday, and I’m too lazy. Also because it is a whole lot of fun to look around. I’m going to spend some more time perusing the site and can’t wait to try these pickles (in a week). I mean, seriously, folks, look at how pretty!

Sunchoke Pickles!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pickling

  1. mom says:

    you are just amazing!

  2. beastmomma says:

    They are incredibly impressive!!

  3. JAG says:

    Update: They are tangy, crunchy, and delicious! Katie ate her jar in a week.

Leave a Reply

