Summer in a Cast Iron Skillet

Went here a few weeks ago and couldn't help but share!

Friends, I’m a terrible blogger. Not bad, as in, I’m not interesting. (At least, I hope not.) More bad, as in, it’s been nearly five months, and I’ve said nothing about what’s happening in life or my kitchen. I suppose partly, it is because I tend to reach out to people individually. And public exposure is not necessarily something I crave. But also, partly, because, well, while the things in the kitchen continue to be delicious and fascinating, things outside the kitchen are less so. All the same, the dreams of the kitchen deserve to be documented. Thus, welcome back! To you and to me.

Last night, I had some of my closest friends over for a (possibly) final meal together. I may be moving, see, and I enjoy an evening at home with my favorite people. We compared fantasty football to LARPing. We talked about movies and television. And all of this over a delicious, simple, summer-inspired meal.

The menu came together so simply and so wonderfully. In New York City, the peak of the season was mid-August, when my CSA would send me hope with upwards of 20 pounds of vegetables and fruit. Summer in Seattle has been a bit delayed, but we are finally reaching the produce and climate peak! (Just in time for the school doors to open today, no less.) But over the last few weeks, I have watched the farmer’s market get more and more colorful, and now it is literally bursting at the seams with affordable, bountiful, healthful, fresh, local produce. And, as you may imagine, summer squash is everywhere. Can’t really avoid it. This week, we got three from our CSA. Because of the cheap and lovely bounty, I sought to do two things:

  • First, make some giardiniera (Italian, spicy, pickled vegetables). They are a personal favorite for snack time. I only had to buy a handful of ingredients, including three bell peppers and four banana peppers, which at the market, came to a total of $2.30. These were delicious, but this post is not about them.
  • Second, make dinner for friends.

Two weeks ago, I came across this post on TheKitchn’s website. I’m always looking for things to do with summer squash that aren’t ratatatouille or zucchini bread. And that post made my mouth water. Literally. So, I secured the ingredients. Again, not challenging given they were all at the height of the season and way cheap at the market. I made a basic salad with some purple and green lettuces, rainbow carrrots, and cucumber from Nash’s. And I pulled some blackberries from the backyard for a berry sauce for dessert.

I added just a couple things to the recipe, but I mostly stuck with how it is written elsewhere. I had most of a green bell pepper, so I added that in the first step with the onions and garlic. And I used an extra pound of squash and an extra egg because there were five people instead of four. It was just enough food. Would help to have some extra protein on the side. I considered some field roast sausage, but I opted not to. We were fine with the light dinner. I also had a tiny bit of leftovers for breakfast. Hopefully it will give me some goodness for the day!

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer in a Cast Iron Skillet

  1. mom says:

    Looks awesome! Upside down though

  2. visa cards says:

    I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing problems with your site. It appears as if some of the written text in your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This could be a problem with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

